Skip to content

Professional Designations

CIC logoCertified Insurance Counselor

The CIC program is designed to meet the insurance professional's need for technical knowledge in all areas of the industry. The program provides an in-depth practical approach for both agency and company practitioners.

The program is made up of seven two-day institutes (16 hours) with the optional 2-hour exam taken online at The National Alliance exam portal. Pass five of the seven to earn the CIC designation.

Each of the seven institutes is approved for 16 hrs CE credit. The exam is optional and not required for state CE credit.

An individual must successfully complete five CIC examinations within five calendar years following the year the first exam was passed.

The seven modules are:

  • Agency Management
  • Commercial Casualty
  • Commercial Property
  • Life and Health
  • Personal Lines
  • Commercial Multiline
  • Insurance Company Operations

Successful completion of the five examinations earns the right to use the coveted CIC designation. Maintain the designation by attending one approved update option a year. Ruble Seminars are one option and only dues paid CICs, CRMs, CISRs, and CSRMs may attend.

A notebook in a pdf file will be available a week prior and electronic note-taking is allowed during the class. Complete details will be emailed a week prior.

For additional help, contact Tammy Holmes,

Click here for upcoming CIC classes

CISR logoCertified Insurance Service Representative

An inspiring professional faculty, nine ONE-DAY courses to choose from, current curriculum, and practical applications - all these features make the CISR Program a truly superior education opportunity.

Each of the nine courses is approved for 7 hrs CE credit.

To earn the CISR designation, you must complete any five of the nine courses and pass the five exams within three years.

The 1-hour multiple choice exam is taken virtually.

The Nine CISR Courses

  • Commercial Casualty 1 / Essentials of Legal Liability, CGL, Additional Insureds
  • Commercial Casualty 2 / Business Auto, Workers Compensation, Excess Liability
  • Commercial Property / Property, Time Element, Commercial Inland Marine
  • Personal Residential / Homeowners
  • Personal Auto
  • Life & Health Essentials / Concepts
  • Elements of Risk Management / The Risk Management Process & Concepts
  • Other Personal Lines Solutions
  • Agency Operation

CISR Elite

Your CISR designation signifies your ongoing commitment to professionalism—bringing you well-deserved recognition. You earned the CISR designation by successfully completing five of the nine CISR courses. What’s next for your career and educational learning path? CISR Elite takes you to the next level!

Choose to attend the four remaining CISR courses and pass the corresponding exams to earn your CISR Elite designation.

CISR Updates

To keep your designation, update at an approved course each year.

  • One of the nine CISR Courses
  • Eight hours at a Ruble Seminar.
  • Attending a full two-day CIC Institute or Ruble Seminar gives two years of update credit.

For additional information, contact Tammy Holmes.

Click here for upcoming CISR classes